Skip to content

Gastón Arevalo: trying to reach the end of the chain

November 5, 2012

Gastón Arévalo(born March 17, 1981) is a Uruguayan electronic artist who has performed in various international festivals and events. His music is a combination of ambient textures and organic rhythms, noises, and sounds, mixing electric-acoustic collages and visual landscapes. He has an aesthetic interest in nature as fundamental influence in his sound. He works with visual pieces that incorporate in his live presentations, experimenting in live cinema and visual code. In 2007 he released an ambient techo work called “Ultramar” on Thinner label, well known on the netaudio scene for his releases from artists like Vladislav Delay. He showed live his work at places like De Unie Theater, Rotterdam at 2008. At 2011 he compose a work called “Deriva” based on the tales written by Horacio Quiroga. This work is released at limited edition tape format. He shares line-ups with artists like Biosphere, Sun Ra Orchestra, Minilogue and many others. He also composed the soundtrack for a short film edited on the collection “La faute à Rousseau” realized as tribute to the birth aniversary of Jean Jacques Rousseau.

How did you get in touch with music?
>I think my influences come at two fronts from my childhood: tapes, vinyls and industrial machines.<

What would you do if there wouldn’t be music, starting with tomorrow?
>good question<

…and what if you had to produce in a different music genre? What would that be?
>in fact, i think that on my works I make an abstraction of various genres on an implicit way<

What’s your (original) profession?
>web designer, creative coder, philosophy student.<

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
>places, landscapes, moments<

What’s your next plan music-wise?
>Well, my second cassette was recently released, I have plans to continue releasing on physical format, and actually a very nice ambient album on CD format is scheduled for early next year. I think physical releases look more like a piece of art, something that you can touch and put on a rack at home. On the other side I would like to keep and increase my European tours every year.<

Who would you like to collaborate with the most and why?
>I never thought about this carefully, but thinking aloud I could say: native people, some jazz player, as some of things that come to mind.<

Is there a band/music genre you can’t stand listening to?
>I could say that my preferences try to escape the obvious and predictable music.<

Is there some music you like – but ashamed to admit it?
>I don’t think so.<

The beauty of silence or the chaos of noises?
>The perfect combination of both.<

What’s your favourite album ever?
>Could be unfair choosing one, but I have been loving for a long time the album “Because Before” by Ulf Lohmann.<

…and your favourite album cover?
>Same thing, but I could say: Brian Eno – Ambient 4: On Land<

If you could be a rock star, who would you be?
>I imagine something on the shoegaze side I think.<

Do you have a role model?
>No.<

Who would you like to meet the most?
>Need a time machine or something like that.<

What are your favourite movies?
>Gerry by Gus Van Sant, 2001 by Kubrick , Dream by Kim Ki-duk. Nymph by Pen-Ek Ratanrunag. The Great Ecstasy of Woodcarver Steiner by Werner Herzog. I also like Aki Kaurismaki movies.<

If you had to direct your own movie, how would it look like?
>One without words or dialogs. I’ve been experimenting to watch movies replacing the original audio for a particular audio soundtrack as background.<

Which language would you like to speak most and why?
>Just now I like how French or German sounds. But any dialect that works as gateway to understand a culture or system (code).<

How would you describe yourself in 5 words?
>Instrospective, fragile, persistent, particular (could be 4?)<

What are your vices?
>Research on inspirative art, discover new music labels, try to reach the end of the chain.<

What are your vices?
>Research on inspirative art, discover new music labels, try to reach the end of the chain.<

What is the most unusual comment anyone has ever made about you?
>Would be found on my memory<

The best moment in your life?
>Not happened yet.<

What does beauty mean to you?
>Originality, the real thing without make-ups. El gesto y la impronta natural.<

What would you do today if the world would end tomorrow?
>Just wait, think over and reflect.<

Which places you love the most?
>I like to contemplate landscapes and discover cities by myself, getting lost and remembering paths.<

What’s your favourite food?
>Anything cooked by my grandma, natural food, pasta.<

What’s your favourite flavour?
>”Dulce de leche” (typical from my land).<

Three things you could never get rid of?
>my thoughts, my dreams, myself<

Your three favourite websites?
>http://www.wikipedia.org/, http://www.hardformat.org/, http://www.garevalo.info. But as i don’t have TV i use YouTube a lot.<

What’s your favourite picture about yourself?

What’s your most favourite picture you made?
>It is somewhere in my mind…<

What is the question you always would have liked to be asked but nobody ever did?
>Don’t know really, maybe could come unannounced some day.<

 

Useful links:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

